Madhur Jaffrey’s Easy Vegetarian Mulligatawny Soup

This soup always amazes me.

I have been making it for about 7 years and it is consistently delicious.  I am not amazed that it tastes so good, but rather that it tastes amazing and is extremely easy to put together.  In fact, I cannot think of anything that is this easy to make and gives you such excellent results.

To make this soup you need a garlic press, a grater and time to let it simmer.  No cutting board.  No knife.

Yes, it is that easy.

This recipe was taken from my best friend’s cookbook Simple Indian Cookery by Madhur Jaffrey and adapted to vegetarian.  The loose-leaf paper that she wrote the recipe down on is faded and worn, making the recipe almost illegible, an indication of its popularity.  EPC always requests this recipe, and each time I make it he always wonders why I do not make it more often.

“We can’t eat it every night”, I say.

Tonight I served the soup with store-bought naan bread, but I could have just as easily served it with some brown basmati rice.  The rice takes just about as much time to cook as the soup, so store-bought naan is no easier than the rice, just a nice treat for a change.

On another note.  We have just ordered some new cookbooks from Chapters online.  EPC and I got a couple of Chapter’s gift cards from my parents for Christmas this year and I think my bad habit of cookbook hoarding may have rubbed off on him.

It was quite cute actually, as soon as he saw the gift certificates he knew exactly what book he wanted to order.  I could not believe it, but that book turned out to be a cookbook.  He ordered the second cookbook from our favorite Toronto restaurant Fresh.  I ordered a vegetarian Mexican cookbook for myself and one for the two of us based on the PBS series Delicious TV.

I can’t wait!

The new cookbooks should arrive sometime next week!

Madhur Jaffrey’s Easy Vegetarian Mulligatawny Soup

3 tablespoons of olive oil
1 teaspoon of ginger, grated
1 teaspoon of garlic, crushed (about 3 cloves through a garlic press)
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 1/2 teaspoons Madras curry powder
1/8-1/4 teaspoon cayenne (I use McCormick’s)
1 19-ounce can of chickpeas, rinsed well
1 cup of red split lentils, rinsed well
4 cups of vegetable stock
1/2-1 teaspoon of salt
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon finely chopped cilantro/coriander

  • Heat olive oil over medium heat, when hot, add ginger and garlic. Stir for 10 seconds.
  • Add cumin, coriander, curry powder, and cayenne. Stir for 10 seconds.
  • Add chickpeas and stir to coat with spices.
  • Add lentils, vegetable stock, and salt and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 45 minutes.
  • Remove from heat and stir in lemon juice.
  • Garnish with fresh coriander/cilantro.
15 responses to “Madhur Jaffrey’s Easy Vegetarian Mulligatawny Soup

  1. Soup.I love soup.
    This one will be on the stove and in my belly very soon!

  2. Good choice Chris!!
    You will get lots of husband points if you whip this soup up for your wife.
    Enjoy it and have a good weekend

  3. I am Madhur Jaffrey’s newest fan!! I love her work and can’t wait to try out this soup you’ve posted! Thanks for sharing :D

  4. Pingback: Better late than never: the best recipes of 2010 | Cookbook Cooks

  5. I have Madhur’s Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian and it has another rendition of a Vegetable Mulligatanwny Soup which I adore. This one seems less time consuming but equally delicious. Do you blend the soup at the end or the veggies just disintegrate? looking forward to exploring Cookbook Cooks.

  6. Reblogged this on beautyanddreams and commented:
    I made this and it was very easy and delicious! I heard Mulligatawny was good for colds and I woke up and my cold was gone! I served mine with store bought garlic nan bread, water with lemon and a light green salad. I sometimes omit garnishes, but the cilantro really does add to it. I would leave that in.

  7. I made this soup today and found it delicious and so easy to put together. The lemon juice and cilantro added after cooking works perfectly in the soup. I am going to make this often.

    /

  8. This is the easiest and most flavoursome soup. I have been making it for years now but the recipe that I was given had diced chicken thighs fillets instead of the chick peas. I will now start adding chick peas as well. My soup is like a clear broth rather than thickened.

  9. Wow!!! First time I made this – I was seriously impressed… I never thought I could have such flavor off of my own kitchen stove. Thank You!!!

  10. Just made this soup. Absolutely delicious – and so easy! I blended it so that it was smooth.

  11. I can’t wait to try this soup. It is one of my favorites, and I really wanted to find a vegetarian version of it! Thanks!

  12. Pingback: Madhur Jaffrey’s Easy Vegetarian Mulligatawny Soup | Planet Veggie

  13. Just made this soup, absolutely gorgeous! Thank you to you and your friend’s copy of the Madhur Jaffrey book and to Madhur Jaffrey for the recipe.

  14. How many servings do you get from this recipe?

Leave a Reply

