Gluten-free Spanakopita from Vefa’s Kitchen

Ok, I lied.

Sort of.

This dish is not true spanakopita, but it is gluten-free.  For those of you who can no longer eat filo pastry and the dish that made it famous, this recipe is for you!  Spinach, feta cheese, mint, yogurt and corn meal.  What more could you ask for?  And to be perfectly honest, I prefer this dish to its filo wrapped counterpart.

Something that is preferable to spanakopita? How can that be?

First off, it is a million times easier to prepare, which makes it a perfect meal for a weeknight supper (and you will have a nice slice or two for lunch the next day).  Secondly, it is better for you.  Instead of crunching through butter-basted white flour filo pastry you are chewing through fibre-rich cornmeal.  And finally, to be quite honest, I find it much tastier than traditional spanakopita.

I am sure that my glorious recommendations have peaked you interest.  This recipe has that effect.  When I first flipped though Vefa’s Kitchen this recipe immediately caught my eye and it was the first recipe that I made from this cookbook.

For some unexplained reason my husband does not enjoy this dish.  I have no idea why.  In this case, I suggest you ignore his opinion and go with your gut instinct.  On my end, I am taking advantage of EPC’s work trip this week and devouring this fantastic dish myself!

Gluten-free Spanakopita

1/3 cup of olive oil
350 g of spinach
1/2 cup of parsley, finely chopped
1/2 cup of fresh mint, finely chopped
4 green onions, finely chopped
150-175 g of feta cheese, crumbled
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/2 cup plain yogurt
1 1/2 cups of cornmeal

  • Preheat the oven to 400°C
  • Steam spinach until wilted.  Drain well and squeeze out excess water
  • Mix spinach, herbs, scallions, and feta in a bowl
  • In a separate bowl mix olive oil, yogurt, and eggs.  Add the cornmeal and mix.
  • Add about 1/2 cup of water to the batter and mix well
  • Grease an 8-inch cake pan and add half the batter.  Top with the greens and feta and cover with the remaining batter.  Do not worry if there is some spinach that remains uncovered.
  • Bake for 30 minutes
  • Let stand for 10 minutes before serving – if you can!

Click to print

6 responses to “Gluten-free Spanakopita from Vefa’s Kitchen

  1. This sounds fantastic! I really miss spanakopita, but I’ll have to try this the next time I’m craving it.

  2. I am sure you will love it!! It is a super recipe.

  3. Oh Kelley!
    You changed my life when you gave me this recipe! it is Sooo Yum!
    Also it is super easy to play around with – once I added grated sweet potato to the top layer of corn meal. I also like to add little chunks of red bell pepper to the mix and sprinkle a bit of cheddar on top a few minutes b/4 I take it out of the oven!
    It’s addictive!

  4. Ally – I knew you augmented the recipe – now I know your secrets!!!
    Spinach, feta and cornmeal is life-changing for sure!!!

  5. Pingback: Better late than never: the best recipes of 2010 | Cookbook Cooks

  6. i made this tonight but used a recipe for millet ‘cornbread’ in order to skip the corn and it was awesome! thanks so much

Leave a Reply

