Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

I love cookies, especially peanut butter ones.

I had some time on Sunday afternoon, so I thought why not whip up a batch of chewy cookies.

Why not, indeed!

I really enjoy having cookies around the house.  I use to be terrible and gobble almost all of them up within a day or two of my baking them, terrible only because I would quickly be out of cookies.  Now that I am older and, I hope, wiser I tuck the cookies into a tin and stick them in the freezer.  That way I can grab a couple on my way out the door in the morning and they will be perfectly defrosted when I am looking for something sweet after lunch.

The nice thing about these cookies, and with all the baking I do out of my Uprisings cookbook, is that you get a satisfying treat that is not half bad for you.  These cookies boast butter, honey, natural peanut butter, whole wheat flour, oatmeal and raisins.  I have made these once before and substituted carob chips for the raisins, but chocolate chips would work too.

How can you go wrong with ingredients like that?

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies – makes 15-20 cookies

1/3 cup softened butter
1/3 cup natural peanut butter
1/3 cup honey
1/2 tablespoon of vanilla
1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/3 cup milk powder
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup large flake rolled oats (not instant)
3/4 cup raisins

  • Preheat oven to 325°C (not 350°C)
  • In a large bowl cream butter, peanut butter, honey and vanilla until blended
  • In a small bowl stir together flour, milk powder, baking powder, baking soda and oats.
  • Add flour mixture to the wet ingredients and stir until combined.
  • Spoon on an oiled, or parchment paper lined, cookie sheet and flatten with a fork.
  • Bake at 325°C for 15-20 minutes.  These cookies brown quickly, so check after 15 minutes.

Click to print

Leave a Reply

