Prelude to Lorna Sass Month – Caribbean Black Bean Soup

Oh, the self-control.

I have been in possession of Lorna Sass’s Short Cut Vegan and Great Vegetarian Cooking Under Pressure for over a month now without cooking a single thing from either book.

Until tonight that is.

Although I  plan to devote the month of March to Lorna Sass and wanted to “save” the cookbooks until then, I really could not wait any longer.  So, I decided to give you a preview of the type of speedy delicious dishes you will be privy to next month.  Since EPC was away this week, I wanted to make something quick, hearty and nutritious.  Pretty hard not to use a cookbook with a title like Short Cut Vegan, don’t you think?

After flipping through the cookbook, I decided on the Caribbean Black Bean Soup and no word of a lie the soup was ready in 15 minutes.  It seems to me it takes the same time to heat up a can of Campbell’s soup as it does to make this hearty satisfying soup.  So, why would you eat canned soup?

Really, why?

I admit I use to rely on canned soup a few times a month.  I even tried some of those new tetra-pac soups from Knorr and Campbell’s.  I found that they were either good, or not very good at all.  In fact, when EPC and I first met one of his favorite suppers was grilled cheese and Fiesta Vegetable canned soup.  I got  tired of that meal pretty quickly.

Now everything has changed.

Neither of us can eat canned soup now.  I asked EPC a few months ago if he wanted me to pick up some canned soup for the cupboard, you know, just in case.

“No thanks,” he said.  “I can’t eat that stuff anymore.”

Well, now you don’t have to either.


Quick and Easy Caribbean Black Bean Soup

2 1/2 cups of water
1 400ml can of light coconut milk
1 398ml can of diced tomatoes
1 jalapeno, diced (to reduce the “spiciness” remove the ribs and seeds)
2 1/2 cups of instant black beans (I found these in the bulk section at a natural foods store)
Salt, to taste
Sambal Oelek or your favorite hot sauce, to taste
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

  • In a large pot bring the water or stock, coconut milk, tomatoes and diced jalapeno to a boil
  • Stir in the beans.
  • Turn off the heat and cover for 5-7 minutes.
  • Add Sambal Oelek and salt to taste
  • Garnish with cilantro

Click to print

8 responses to “Prelude to Lorna Sass Month – Caribbean Black Bean Soup

  1. Thrilled that you’re helping me get the word out about pressure cooking, whole grains, and easy vegan cooking. Thanks so much! Lorna

  2. Not as thrilled as I am to experiment with pressure cooking!!!
    It will be fun
    We are picking up a cooker this weekend

  3. Pls contact me directly via my website.

  4. Pingback: Lorna Sass’s Thai Chickpeas: my first adventure with pressure cooking « Cookbook Cooks

  5. made this last night Kelley! it was soooo easy and fast.. plus yummy! I’ve actually been making things from your blog regularly… thanks for posting all these good recipes!

  6. That is great to hear Leah. I am glad you are enjoying the recipes :)

  7. Pingback: To tired to cook? Try Short-Cut Vegan. « Cookbook Cooks

  8. Pingback: Two Week Meal Plan, Revisited — Carfree with Kids

Leave a Reply

