Dosa with Chickpea, Potato and Yam

As I type this the taste of tonight’s dinner is still lingering on my tongue.

A blend of indian spices, fried bread, and zesty coconut chutney are making me feel quite content as I contemplate the end of another weekend. We went to see The Flaming Lips in concert on Friday night (amazing!), picked up some carrots and Macintosh apples at the Farmer’s Market, hung out Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria with friends for dinner on Saturday evening, and ran errands today. The weather was fantastic this weekend and it made it up to 27°C yesterday.   I am glad I made time for a walk Saturday afternoon, because you can be certain this will be our last nice weekend. Although we were not too busy and managed to get lots of sleep, I was feeling low on energy when the time to cook dinner rolled around.

I like to make something a little special for Sunday’s supper, but today I did not want to make the effort. Luckily, I know myself enough to be in tune when laziness strikes and I had an easy dinner planned. Of course, once you taste it, you would have no idea it came together so quickly.

I also cheated a bit. I could make the wonderful Indian pan-fried flat bread from scratch, but why bother when I can pick up an instant dosa packet (they are gluten-free) at the Indian Grocer or Superstore and have the batter ready to go in about 5 minutes. I suppose if you were feeling extra lazy you could serve the filling rolled up in a tortilla, but it wouldn’t be the same. The delicious blend of lentil and rice flour is something that you don’t want to miss!

Dosa with Chickpea, Potato and Yam

1 potato, peeled, diced and boiled until tender (about 1 cup)
1 yam, peeled, diced and boiled until tender (about 1 cup)

1 small to medium onion, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon garam masala
1/4 teaspoon cayenne chili powder
1 14 ounce can diced tomatoes
1 19 ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
3 tablespoons plain yogurt
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup cilantro, finely chopped

  • Peel, chop and boil the potato and yam for 15 minutes until tender. Drain and reserve.
  • Saute onion and garlic on medium heat until softened, about 5 minutes
  • Add cumin, coriander, garam masala, and cayenne and stir to coat
  • Add tomatoes and cook,  stirring occasionally for 5 minutes
  • Add chickpeas, potatoes and yam. Mash the potatoes and yams while cooking for about 10 minutes until heated through.
  • Stir in the yogurt, salt and cilantro. Remove from heat and set aside while you make the dosas.
  • Dosas are easy, just follow the instructions on the box. Please use a non-stick pan and cook each dosa in a cooled pan. I run my pan under cool tap water between each dosa.
  • When each dosa is ready spoon a couple spoonfuls of filling down the centre, roll up the sides and secure with a toothpick.
  • I like to serve it with Aki’s Brand Coconut Chutney

Click to print

6 responses to “Dosa with Chickpea, Potato and Yam

  1. I am always amazed at how simple Indian food can be. I have set blockers in my head that as soon as I hear “Indian” I think complex, time consuming and a grocery list a mile long. I love to learn of recipes such as this, as it reminds me that it doesn’t have to be an all day affair.

    This recipe sounds absolutely delicious, and have it on my “must try” list.

  2. Hello Mistress Chef Kelley!

    If I was going to make the Indian pan-fried flat bread from scratch, what would I do?

    I don’t think we could find the instant dosa packet here in Botswana (but one never knows!).

    xox

  3. Very rare that I don’t want to eat your recipes, but this is one that is too “???” for my palate. I love Indian food – but, there are some dishes that catch me in the throat. Somehow, reading this, I feel it would be one. Weird, eh? But, love the creativity and am glad I am not banging my head and salivating profusely as I usually am after reading your posts. :)
    Valerie

    • Valerie if you ever get the chance to try dosa – do try it. I am sure you would like it. In addition, this recipe is by no means authentic – maybe hat is why is sounds unappealing :)

  4. WANT. There is a little store by my work that sold dosas every Friday and those in the know would dutifully make their way over at lunchtime – but you couldn’t go too late as they often ran out. They are just filling enough with a nice kick to get you through the afternoon. Lately they haven’t had them and I mulled digging up dosa recipes to make my own, but wasn’t looking forward to the trial and error (I tend to quit at the “error” part). And behold, here you are! with another recipe I look forward to trying. Thanks :)

Leave a Reply

