Vegetarian Black Bean Enchilada Bake

I had a friend ask for one of my recipes this past weekend.  I figured what a better way to get started blogging than with a “real” recipe request.  Afterall, that is the purpose of Cookbook Cooks – sharing recipes!

She and her partner stayed with us for a couple of days while they were getting some work done on their place.  Since she is gluten-free, I rummaged around in my unorganized recipe binder (sigh – I really need to do something about that!) to find a hearty and substantial recipe that was different and delicious while meeting her dietary requirements. Not that cooking gluten-free is difficult or implies that we need to make sacrifices, but I wanted to make an effort and cook something that  I thought she would enjoy (and that would make enough so we could all take some in our lunch the next day!).

I came across a recipe for Vegetarian Black Bean Enchilada Bake that I had found on About.com.  I  made it once before when my husband’s brother (a non-vegetarian) was visiting. He and my husband both loved it and each ate two large helpings, so I figured I would make it again.  If it was a success once, I figured it would be safe bet this time too.

Vegetarian Black Bean Enchilada Bake is easy and quick to put together, but is by no means a gourmet or elegant meal.  It tastes great though, and isn’t that what really matters?

Vegetarian Black Bean Enchilada Bake

Preheat oven to 350°C
1 large onion, chopped
1 red pepper, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup salsa ( I like to use Pace medium salsa)
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/8 – 1/4 teaspoons cayenne pepper (I like to use McCormick’s)
2  540 ml cans black beans, drained and rinsed
12  6-inch corn tortillas
3 cups Monterey Jack and Cheddar blend cheese shredded ( I like to use the Kraft Tex-Mex shredded cheese mix)

  • Saute the onion, pepper and garlic in a large skillet for 3-5 minutes until tender.
  • Add the salsa, cumin, cayenne and  black beans and bring to simmer over medium heat. Cook, stirring often for 3 minutes.
  • Arrange 6 tortillas in bottom of 9″ x 13″ baking dish overlapping them as necessary. Spread half of bean mixture over tortillas and sprinkle with half of cheese. Repeat layering process with remaining tortillas, bean mixture and cheese.
  • Cover dish with foil and bake 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Vegetarian Black Bean Enchilada Bake

  1. Awesomeness!
    Thanks! it Is indeed quite Yummy!

  2. In my experience, the best tasting food is the least photogenic. This sounds delicious.

    A dangerous thing reading your blog. I cook enough as it is. Finding your recipes could have me cooking full time!

  3. Kelley's Mother

    Another winner! We had it when on vacation and it will be another meatless meal that we will have when the cooler weather arrives and the barbecue is put away until late Spring. You and hubby did a wonderful job cooking up this dish.

  4. Pingback: Better late than never: the best recipes of 2010 | Cookbook Cooks

Leave a Reply

