Planet Organic Hummus (with a sesame oil twist)

EPC and I are having a party tonight.

What fun!

The theme is a  Christmas Party in January.  We will be hosting it for my work coffee group and I have asked everyone to dress up fancy if they wish (we don’t get that opportunity at work, so why not).  EPC and I had some renovations done this past fall.  As a result, January was far more favorable than late November for a Christmas party, so here we are.

Originally I had wanted to be the “hostess with the mostess” and prepare all the snacks myself and introduce our guests to vegetarian finger food, but there were a few concerned comments about there being a lack of variety if the food was all vegetarian.  This shocked me, as I am sure you can imagine, but rather than show I had something to prove, I conceded and made the party a potluck.  In the end, it seems that most of the guests will bring vegetarian food anyway, so I ended up having more free time Saturday afternoon than I would have if I was preparing enough finger food for 15.  Enough time to post my latest entry anyway.

I think that there are an infinite number of recipes for hummus.  Afterall, it is a vegetarian’s favorite dip (isn’t it?) and it has become popular among carnivores, because of its presence on Greek and Lebanese menus.  Not to toot my own “recipe-finding” horn, but this hummus rises above the rest.  I think the addition of sesame oil  gives this hummus it’s oomph.  I got this recipe from The Planet Organic Market Cookbook by Diane Shaskin.  Planet Organic Market is a Canadian organic food store and deli.  I have a friend who shops there quite regularly and buys this exact hummus from their deli.  If I remember correctly, it was at her house that I first tried this hummus and it is also the first recipe that I made after getting the cookbook from EPC last Christmas.

I made it for our New Year’s Eve party last year, to rave reviews, so I figured it would be a good choice for our Christmas Party in January.

Planet Organic Hummus

1 19-ounce can of chickpeas, rinsed well
1 tablespoon of tahini
2 teaspoons of toasted sesame oil
1 tablespoon of garlic, minced (more or less to taste)
2 tablespoons of lemon juice
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon of sea salt.
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

  • Mix all ingredients (except the olive oil) in a food processor until well blended.
  • Add olive oil and blend together.

Serve with pita chips, pita bread, or fresh vegetables. We also like it spread on a fresh vegetable sandwich.

2 responses to “Planet Organic Hummus (with a sesame oil twist)

  1. I’m one of the many carnivores that LOVES hummous and given that Toasted Sesame Oil is one of my favourite oils, I can’t wait to try making this version. Sounds delish!!! Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. I hope you like it. We are eating leftover hummus today 🙂

Leave a Reply

