Raisin Squares for my Husband’s Suitcase

Ok, I know.  It is Lorna Sass Month, so what am I doing posting a recipe for raisin squares from The Deaf Smith Country Cookbook?

Well, I really wanted some and I love to bake.  But even more than that, I wanted to make a sweet treat for EPC.   He is away on a work trip again this week, so I thought he needed a treat to take with him in his suitcase.  Since he has traveled  for work a lot lately, I have been a little cranky.  I guess in retrospect I needed him to take the raisin squares with him, so he could feel my love while he is a few provinces away.

EPC loves these raisin squares.  They make a great snack.  Full of raisins and nuts with a base of whole wheat pastry flour and a touch of honey these squares won’t cause your blood sugar to skyrocket, so they make for a perfect late afternoon protein-rich snack to get you through to dinner time.  Of course, this can be said about many of the sweeter recipes in this cookbook.  As a result, this is the only cookbook that EPC will consistently eat the cookies or other treats out of.  So, if I don’t want to get stuck eating all the cookies myself (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing) this is the cookbook I turn to.

In case you are interested, the Deaf Smith Country Cookbook is the very first cookbook I ever owned!    My Mom and Dad gave it to me when I moved from Ontario to Alberta almost 20 years ago.  They inscribed it with “Happy healthy cooking”.  My Mom even has the original edition of this cookbook at home that came out a year or so after I was born.  So, in the spirit of the inscription: Happy healthy eating!

Raisin Squares

2 cups of Thompson raisins
1 1/2 cups of water
2 tablespoons of butter

1/2 cup of honey

1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of allspice
2 cups of chopped nuts (I used almonds, but walnuts work too)
2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour (if you can’t track pastry flour down, use 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour instead)

  • Put the raisins, water, and butter in a saucepan and bring to a boil
  • Remove from heat and add the honey, stirring until blended.  Let cool
  • Mix the flour, spices and nuts.  Add to the raisin mixture and stir well.
  • Pour into a greased and floured 8 x 8 can pan.
  • Bake for 40 minutes at 350°C
  • Cool and cut into squares

I always store these at room temperature, or in the freezer for long-term, because I find they tend to dry out in the refrigerator.

Click to print

9 responses to “Raisin Squares for my Husband’s Suitcase

  1. What a beautiful gift for your husband. That’s what cooking and baking is all about – so those we love can “feel our love:, and so those we don’t, just feel loved.
    XO
    Valerie

  2. Kelley's Mother

    Glad you are enjoying the cookbook. The Raisin Squares sound yummie. Much better than the Soya Bean Loaf.

  3. Yum yum yummy!!! Inspired! I will try these out.

  4. These really do look great. I think I’d enjoy the crunch for sure!

  5. These sound yummy and healthy. I’m going to try this recipe too!

  6. So I baked these today and both Joe and I love them!!! A perfect combination of chewy and crunchy. Joe wants me to bake these all the time now. He says they’ll go good with his tea in the morning 🙂 Question: how do you keep the edges from getting too crispy? Is that easily solved by cooking for less time, or is there some other solution?

    • You might get crispier edges if you used a glass instead of metal pan? I always use metal.
      Because of that, you could try baking for less time or lowering the temperature.
      The original recipe says they should bake for 1 hour, but I think that is way to long.

      • Shawna Kelly

        Wow! If I cooked them for 1hr, I would end up with a brick of nuts and raisins. Must be the altitude 🙂
        I used a metal pan too, so next time I’ll just try lowering the temperature or cooking for less time. It seems that crispy edges happen all the time no matter what I’m baking — I’d really like to get that figured out.

Leave a Reply

