Lorna Sass’s Udon with Green Beans and Peanut Sauce from Short-Cut Vegan

Thank goodness the recipes in this cookbook are quick, otherwise I may have finished off all the peanut sauce before it even made its way onto my noodles!

I couldn’t decide if I should make Lorna Sass’s peanut sauce recipe, or use the bottle of store-bought I had in the fridge.  In the end I decided that I should be true to the recipe and take the extra five minutes to make the sauce. Well, I made the right choice.  Short-Cut Vegan’s peanut sauce is simply delicious.  And yes, the pun is intended.

I took Lorna’s suggestion and added some tofu to the mix.  Did you know that 85 grams of tofu has 45 % of your daily calcium requirement!  Aside from the fact that tofu is a great source of protein, the calcium alone is a great reason to include it in your diet.  I also substituted whole wheat linguine noodles for the udon, because that is what I had in the cupboard

I always find it a bit challenging to cook when EPC is away.  I get used to cooking for two.  Having my husband around gives me that extra motivation to take time in the kitchen to make something special (or at least more special than the prepared spaghetti sauce I ate last night).

Short-Cut Vegan is making cooking for one a bit easier for me with it’s collection of quick tasty meals.  So, instead of me being jealous that my husband is eating out every night, he will be jealous of  me eating this delicious meal in the comfort of our home!

And that, dear readers, is exactly what happened.

Udon with Green Beans and Peanut Sauce

8 ounces of brown rice udon, rice noodles, or angel hair, or whatever long noodle you have in the cupboard
1 2/3 cups of frozen green beans (defrosted) or use fresh, cut into thirds
1/2 cup diced red or yellow pepper (I just used a whole one)
1/2 cup of Asian peanut sauce (see recipe below)
Tamari or soy sauce to taste
175 g firm tofu, cubed (if desired)

  • Bring water to boil in a large pot
  • Cook the pasta for 2 minutes less than indicated on the package
  • Meanwhile saute tofu (if using) until golden
  • Add the green beans to the pasta and continue to cook until the pasta is done.
  • Drain pasta and beans and transfer to a large bowl
  • Add tofu and bell pepper and enough peanut sauce to coat.
  • Add tamari/soy sauce to taste
  • Serve warm or at room temperature

Asian Peanut Sauce

1 cup of natural peanut butter
2 1/2 tablespoons of tamari or soy sauce
2 teaspoons of seasoned rice vinegar
1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
2/3 to 3/4 cup of boiling water, or more if needed

garlic and ginger, finely minced to taste

  • Blend peanut butter, tamari, vinegar, cayenne, and boiling water in your food processor.   Add more water if needed to make a thick but pourable sauce.
  • Add ginger and garlic before serving
  • This can keep up to two weeks in the fridge and will need to be thinned with hot water before serving

Click to print

7 responses to “Lorna Sass’s Udon with Green Beans and Peanut Sauce from Short-Cut Vegan

  1. YUM! This sounds great and I love that it’s super easy. I’ll be trying this recipe out this weekend. Thanks again for another great dinner idea!

  2. Melanie Finlayson

    Holy moly this looks good! I love a good peanut sauce. My current meal of macaroni and store bought sauce is hiding its head in shame.

  3. Are you doing a post a day? It would wear me out. Good for you. Great cooking and great information!

  4. Love the photo! Glad you liked it. Keep up the good work! Lorna

  5. Pingback: To tired to cook? Try Short-Cut Vegan. « Cookbook Cooks

  6. Thanks for posting this. I’m going to try it tonight. It looks really good and easy.

Leave a Reply

