Lorna Sass’s Caribbean Rice and Beans

Delicious.

Sometimes one word is all you need.

Although I have more than “delicious” to say about Lorna Sass’s recipe, I will be keeping the post short.  I seem to be suffering from a bit of blogger’s block this week.  Regardless of my lack of words, I think the photo does the recipe justice.  It really does taste as wonderful as it looks.

When I saw this recipe in Great Vegetarian Cooking Under Pressure I knew that it would be excellent.  Lorna Sass’s version of  Caribbean Rice and Beans trades the traditional white rice for the more healthy and flavourful brown.  Although it looses the customary look of pink beans against white coconut rice, I prefer it with brown rice.

The Caribbean dish of rice and beans is familiar to me; when I was growing up my Mom had a very good friend from Jamaica who use to make this dish quite often.  My Mother can tell you that I was picky eater as a child and would not eat beans. As a result, I did not try this dish until we went to visit her when I was in my late teens.  I have not had anything similar to this dish until now and I am quite happy to know that I can easily recreate it anytime I want!  Coincidently, my parents will be visiting her in Florida next month.  I wonder if she will prepare this dish for them?

Caribbean Rice and Beans

1 tablespoon olive oil
2 teaspoons garlic, minced
1 medium onion, coarsely chopped
1 hot pepper, seeded and chopped
1 red pepper, diced
1 15 ounce can of diced tomato
2 -2 1/4 cups of boiling water (use larger amount if using jiggle-top cooker)
1 1/2 cups long-grained brown rice, rinsed and drained (I use brown basmati)
1/2 cup dried unsweetened coconut
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup of firm cooked pigeon peas or black-eyed peas (I used 1 19 ounce can of kidney beans)
1/4 cup of fresh cilantro, finely diced

  • Heat the oil and saute the onion, garlic and chili pepper over medium high heat for about 1 minute.
  • Add the red pepper, tomatoes, water, rice, coconut, thyme and salt.
  • Lock the lid in place (if using a jiggle-top cooker set it on a heated flame tamer) and bring to high pressure over high heat
  • Lower the heat just enough to maintain high pressure and cook for 25 minutes
  • Allow the pressure to come down naturally for 10 minutes.  Quick release the remaining pressure.
  • Remove the lid facing away from you
  • Add the beans and cilantro and stir well and let sit for a few minutes so the beans can warm up from the heat of the rice.

Click to print

3 responses to “Lorna Sass’s Caribbean Rice and Beans

  1. Pingback: A month of recipes from Lorna Sass’s Great Vegetarian Cooking Under Pressure « Cookbook Cooks

  2. can canned coconut milk be used in place of flakes

Leave a Reply

