Lorna Sass and Short-Cut Vegan give me some Posole!

I have to thank Short-Cut Vegan and Lorna Sass for introducing me to posole.  Up until the end of January 2010 I was ignorant of what posole or its main ingredient hominy were.  In fact, a favorite local restaurant, Blue Plate Diner, features a vegetarian posole enchilada dish that I was reluctant to order, because I had no idea what it was.  To make a long story short, I noticed a recipe for Posole in Short-Cut Vegan and, after enlightening myself, made a  point of ordering said enchilada dish and thoroughly enjoying it!

That sealed the deal and I knew that I wanted to give Lorna’s recipe a try.  However, hominy corn proved difficult for me to locate without a special trip to the Mexican grocery store, which is why it has taken me until the end of the month to get around to making a dish that I had my eye on from the beginning.

Oh yeah, in case you are wondering what hominy is, it is corn cooked in an  alkaline solution (such as lime) to remove the germ and hull.  This is standard practice when corn is processed into tortillas, corn chips, or our friend hominy.  Instead of being further processed and ground, hominy is sold intact either canned or dried.  It looks like large distressed kernels of canned corn, which is basically what it is.

The recipe that I am focusing on today – posole – is a traditional Mexican stew.  Of course, Lorna’s recipe leaves out the pork (thankfully) and includes black beans to round out the meal.  And like everything else in Short-Cut Vegan it is delicious and simple to prepare.

I decided to take the recipe into my own hands and “Edmonton-Mex” it up in the style of the Blue Plate Diner.  So, I put some of the filling into warmed 6″ corn tortillas, rolled them up and baked them in the toaster oven with a bit of grated Monterey Jack cheese on top for about 5-10 minutes.

Posole as a stew if you are in a hurry, or as filling for rolled and baked tortillas if you have the time, is a flavourful, balanced, and quick meal.

Posole

398 ml can of diced tomatoes
15 ounce can of white hominy, drained and rinsed very well
19 ounce can of black beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup of fresh or frozen corn (I used one 7 ounce can)
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/8-1/4 teaspoon of chipotle chili powder or cayenne

1 tablespoon of roasted garlic oil (I just added 2 cloves of garlic with the other ingredients)

  • In a large pot combine all the ingredients, except the olive oil
  • Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer, stirring occasionally for about 5-10 minutes
  • Just before serving stir in the olive oil.
*If you want to roll the posole up in a tortilla as pictured above:
  • Warm the tortillas in a skillet and place in a baking dish.
  • Add a couple spoonfuls of filling in the centre of each tortilla.
  • Roll up and place seam-side down.  Top with grated Monterey Jack cheese and broil until cheese bubbles.

Click to print

7 responses to “Lorna Sass and Short-Cut Vegan give me some Posole!

  1. YUM – you keep these coming so fast – I cannot keep up… I want to make them all – and am not kidding… did you get my questions about the pressure cooker…?

  2. Gosh – I missed it. Thought I had signed up for follow up comments. I will go peek now. Tahnks! 🙂

  3. Posole – new dish for me (at least a new word anyway). Sounds delicious. Especially with the bubbling cheese on top.

  4. I’ve always loved experimentation and had cooked my way up to nearly 400 pounds. Nowadays I am cooking my way down–140 pounds down so far–by focusing on vegetables! I just got my first pressure cooker, and just today discovered your blog via Lorna Sass’ website. I’m so inspired by your adventures. Thanks!

    • Wow! That is fantastic. Good for you.

      If you are looking for more vegetable and bean-based dishes, I really recommend her pressure cooker cookbook – Great Vegetarian Cooking Under Pressure – the recipes are fantastic.

      Keep in touch!

  5. Pingback: To tired to cook? Try Short-Cut Vegan. « Cookbook Cooks

Leave a Reply

