Butternut Squash Macaroni and Cheese

I have had my eye on this macaroni and cheese recipe for a couple of months now.  I think my cravings for macaroni and cheese started when a co-worker’s 11-year-old daughter was trying out a new macaroni and cheese recipe every weekend.  Her Mom would come to work with the leftovers every Monday for lunch.

I would watch her eat her lunch with envy.

Whenever I decide to make  macaroni and cheese I always balk at the amount of cheese and fat in the recipe and end up scrimping on the cheese, full-fat milk, or butter and basically ruining the recipe.  When I came across this recipe for Butternut Squash Macaroni and Cheese I was very excited!  It looked like the perfect recipe to feed my macaroni and cheese craving.

The creamy yellow butternut squash complements the 2 cups of cheese and 2 cups of skim milk.  It adds fibre, colour, and a smooth texture without upping the fat.  I also used whole wheat macaroni and whole wheat bread crumbs to further increase the fibre.  Next time I make this, EPC suggested that I mix in some tomatoes  with the macaroni before baking to add some colour and texture to the dish.

I got this great recipe from The Way the Cookie Crumbles.  I followed the recipe exactly, so I won’t bother reposting it here.

Let me know what you think.

3 responses to “Butternut Squash Macaroni and Cheese

  1. It looks fantastic- and healthy is always better. What a great idea. Thanks for sharing, yet again, another delicious, nutritious and economical classic. When will I find the time? I am determined… but, obviuously not as committed as you. Great work!
    🙂
    Valerie

  2. Hey Kelly!

    Made a variation of this last night after reading your blog! Switched the cheeses to what we had in the fridge and made it with rice pasta but it was delicious! Slightly sweet which was a pleasant surprise. Would recommend this to anyone!

    Aimee

Leave a Reply

