Ms. Jaffrey’s Madras Curried Tomato Soup

It must appear to you that I have been slacking off at blogging this month.  It’s true.  It is already half way through the month and I have only put up four posts including this one.  I guess that is what happens after a having a month of sure things, courtesy of Lorna Sass, and then moving into the uncharted territory of other cookbooks.

I made a batch of cookies, which are pretty good, but not a recipe I deem worthy of a post and a tempeh jambalaya with similar concerns.  On Easter weekend, I did make an excellent dish but figure it needs a bit of tweaking before it makes an appearance on Cookbook Cooks.  So there you have it.  If everything had worked out a little better, or I had made a better cookie choice, you would be seeing almost double the posts.

Enough about my unposted efforts and on to the meal at hand.

Whenever I use my Madhur Jaffrey World Vegetarian cookbook I always get stuck at the front.

The book starts with beans, dried beans, lentils and nuts and is then subdivided into specific sections such as chickpeas, mung beans or cashews.  Then goes on with the same format for vegetables and grains.  I am sure you can imagine how inclusive, thorough (and thick) this cookbook is.  For example, the soup section doesn’t start until page 575. I think it is clear now why I always get stuck in the first half of the cookbook.

Don’t get me wrong,  it is quite a nice set-up actually.  If you have some swiss chard in the fridge you can flip through the swiss chard section and find such delights as Young Swiss Chard with Sesame Seeds and Swiss Chard with Tomatoes and Chickpeas. On the other hand if you feel like kidney beans there is a wonderful recipe for Nigerian Red Kidney Bean Stew with a Peanut Sauce, which is a personal favourite of mine.  This time when deciding what wonderful recipe to try I started at the back of the cookbook instead, bringing me to the delicious Madras Curried Tomato Soup.

The soup that I served veers quite a bit from the original recipe, but in a good way. I took out the heavy cream and substituted light coconut milk and added a can of lentils to give it more protein.  It tastes great and I think you could even add less water and serve it up over rice if you fancy.  We had it with some store-bought naan bread, which neither of us cared for, but was rescued by a thorough dunking in the thick soup.

Madras Curried Tomato Soup

2 tablespoons peanut oil
1 medium onion, diced
2 tablespoons curry powder
28 ounce can diced tomatoes (I used the no salt added variety)
2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped into rounds
2 medium potatoes, peeled and diced
1 cup  frozen, defrosted peas
1 19 ounce can of lentils
2  tsp salt (you might want to add less if your tomatoes have salt added)
1  can coconut milk (light or original)

  • Heat the oil over medium heat and add the onion.  Saute for 5 minutes, or until the onion has softened.
  • Add the curry powder and give a quick stir.
  • Add the canned tomatoes, carrots, potatoes, peas, canned lentils, and 4 cups of water.
  • Bring the soup to boil and then turn down the heat, cover and simmer for 45 minutes
  • Blend the soup in batches in a blender or use an immersion blender
  • Reheat the soup if needed and serve

Click to print

4 responses to “Ms. Jaffrey’s Madras Curried Tomato Soup

  1. This would be a snap in my Thermomix. I am the SOUP QUEEN. Did you know that? I eat a ton of soup – easy to digest, delicious, nutritious, and economical – and also, I use a lot of stuff that would otherwise go bad at the bottom of the fridge. This recipe really looks yummy. I am not a curry fan – but, I could figure out certain spices that would enhance the vegetables in this dish. And. I would have never thought to put these together.
    YUM.
    Valerie

  2. Loved the soup! Had it for dinner tonight, and with your words of warning about store-bought naan, I decided to go all the way and make my own. Thanks for the inspiration Kelley!

  3. Wonderful soup!!!! YUM. Thank you SOOO much for the recipe!
    Big hug,
    Valerie

Leave a Reply

