Thai Noodles from our favourite Toronto restaurant!

Tonight’s dinner: delicious!

Even though making the sauce for this meal requires a bit of work, it was absolutely worth the effort. So please do not be put off by the list of ingredients and the required food processor!  This dish has the type of tangy flavourful sauce that keeps many of us going back to Thai restaurants.  Although this recipe is by no means authentic, it is so good and so reminiscent of authentic that no one will even care, or notice that is isn’t.

Another nice thing about this recipe is that it is easy to make gluten-free.  It already has brown rice noodles, so all you have to do is substitute the soya sauce for wheat-free tamari.  If you do feel like cutting corners, I don’t think anyone would notice if you skipped out on marinating the tofu.

Once you get around to making Thai Noodles, you will find out why Fresh is our favorite restaurant in Toronto.  We have both cookbooks from this restaurant, Fresh at Home and reFresh, and, in case you are interested, you can get them both from Chapter’s or Amazon, so you do not have worry about making a special trip to Toronto.  However,  if you are in the neighborhood I recommend that you stop by (they have three locations).  We have plans to go to Toronto this summer and are quite excited to eat there at least once every day that we are in town.

EPC is a big fan of eating Fresh’s rice/noodle bowls, but does find them too involved to enjoy cooking them, so that is where I come in.

Even though the weather was fantastic this weekend, I felt like staying in all day Sunday, parked on the couch reading a novel and being lazy.  I will confess I always feel a bit guilty when I do not make it outside on the weekend for a walk, but since I had taken in the 124th Street Gallery Walk on Saturday afternoon I decided to advantage of my desire to stay in and do some cooking.  If my laziness got me in the bad books with my husband, tonight’s dinner would get me out.

An afternoon in was a perfect opportunity for me to marinade tofu, simmer the sauce and quickly put together reFresh’s Thai Noodles between chapters.

Marinated tofu, thin shavings of carrots, tender spinach, a succulent sauce, garnished with fresh cilantro, bean sprouts, peanuts and cucumber, all on top of a bed of brown rice noodles…

How can you resist?

Thai Noodles

1 375 g package of brown rice spaghetti noodles
6 cups of spinach
1 block of firm tofu, marinated (recipe below)
1 tomato, seeded and chopped
1 large carrot, peeled into strips (use vegetable peeler)
Thai noodle sauce (recipe below)
2 cups bean sprouts, reserve a handful for garnish
1/2 cup cilantro
1/4 cup roasted peanuts
4 inches of cucumber, sliced into strips

  • Cook the noodles according to package directions, drain, and put back in the pot with a bit of the Thai Noodle Sauce to prevent sticking (don’t worry about keeping them warm)
  • Put the tofu, spinach, tomato, carrot and Thai Noodle Sauce in a wok.  Bring to a boil and then simmer until the greens are tender.  Add the bean sprouts and stir
  • Divide the noodles up among four bowls (or two bowls and two lunch containers) and top with the vegetable and tofu mix.
  • Garnish with fresh cucumber, cilantro, bean sprouts and peanuts

Marinated Tofu

1 block of firm tofu, cubed
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/3 cup low-sodium soya sauce or wheat-free tamari
2 tablespoons filtered water
1 tablespoon sunflower oil

  • Mix the vinegar, soya sauce, water and oil in a shallow dish.
  • Add the tofu cubes and marinate for 1 hour in the fridge

Thai Noodle Sauce

3 inch piece of ginger root, peeled and chopped
12 cloves of garlic
3 tablespoons sesame oil
2/3 cup raw sunflower seeds
1 1/3 cup grated unsweetened coconut
2 tablespoons chili powder
2/3 cup lemon juice
1/3 cup low-sodium soya sauce or wheat-free tamari
5 cups of carrot juice
1-2 teaspoons sea salt
4 teaspoons paprika
1 stalk lemongrass, peel off outer layer and cut off top of stalk and crush

  • In food processor, puree the ginger and garlic
  • In a large saucepan heat the sesame oil over medium-low heat.  Add the ginger and garlic and saute for about 5 minutes
  • Grind the sunflower seeds in the food processor and add to the saucepan
  • Add the remaining ingredients, bring to a boil and simmer for 30 minutes
  • Remove the stalk of lemongrass

Click to print

6 responses to “Thai Noodles from our favourite Toronto restaurant!

  1. I do love Thai… the freshness and healthy feeling I get with MOST of the Thai food I eat and that tang you mention – has me completely hooked.
    🙂
    Valerie

  2. I LOVE thai and noodles. That sauce recipe looks unlike I’ve seen before for sure. I mean, carrot juice! That’s cool.

    • I wasn’t sure what to think when saw carrot juice, but everything from Fresh is so good that I knew it would be wonderful. It really works well and you do not even know it is there.

  3. I made the recipe tonight and we just finished eating…simply delightful! I love Fresh 🙂 Thanks Kelley!

    • I know. I can’t wait to eat there this summer. Maybe I should bring my cookbook down (if you haven’t picked it up already) and we can “Fresh it up” at the end of May.

  4. Pingback: Better late than never: the best recipes of 2010 | Cookbook Cooks

Leave a Reply

