It doesn’t look pretty, but it sure tastes good: Tofu Burgers and Cilantro Carrot Salad

“Honey, this is the best tofu scramble you have ever made.”

He was joking, but if you are making veggie burgers and you can barely get them off the baking sheet and onto the bun without them crumbling all over, well, you get the idea.  He was not too far from the truth, it was certainly more like a tofu scramble than a tofu burger.  We were both good sports and attempted to eat it on a bun like it was intended, but that did prove difficult.

It looks pretty good in the photo, so I guess I should have included an after first bite photo.

This veggie burger was delicious, but it didn’t do what a burger should, so I am not going to bother posting the recipe.  I think vegetarians have enough trouble finding a good home-made burger recipe that doesn’t fall off the bun and make a mess all over the plate, without me adding to the collection.

I have a whole host of veggie burger recipes to try and I when I find a one that sticks together fairly well and tastes great I will share it with you.  EPC and I really love veggie burgers, but have been getting tired of the store-bought variety, so testing a bunch of recipes will be fun, tasty, and relatively painless.

However, I would like to share with you the recipe for the simple and delicious salad that I served on the side. This easy salad and the tofu burgers are from my latest library acquisition the Moosewood Restaurant New Classics cookbook

Cilantro Carrot Salad

2 1/2 cups of peeled and coarsely grated carrots
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 small clove of garlic, minced
1 tablespoon of cilantro, minced
1 tablespoon of parsley, minced
a dash or two of salt to taste
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
pinch of cayenne

  • Place the carrots in a serving bowl
  • Blend the dressing ingredients  together with a whisk or in a blender.
  • Pour the dressing over the carrots and toss well.
  • Serve chilled or at room temperature.

It will keep for a couple of days in the fridge.

Click to print

3 responses to “It doesn’t look pretty, but it sure tastes good: Tofu Burgers and Cilantro Carrot Salad

  1. Looks yummy and fast and easy. I love carrots and cilantro and look forward to trying this one.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Pam

  2. This does look great, to me! Love the salad idea. YUM.
    🙂
    Valerie

  3. Pingback: Quick and Easy Veggie Burgers | Cookbook Cooks

Leave a Reply

