Homemade Apple Cranberry Granola

Every morning I have granola and plain yogurt for breakfast.   EPC is more of a crunchy bits and flakes with milk kinda’ guy.  He also loves to mix different types of breakfast cereal into one bowl.  Whenever there is homemade granola in the house, you can be sure he has a bit buried beneath his favourite flake.

We regularly buy Nature’s Path, Dorset Cereals, and Alpen.  We find these to be high quality and not too sweet.  I have also been known to splurge and pick up a package of Bob’s Red Mill Muesli or Alberta-made  Highwood Crossing Granola from time to time.  However, every once and while I get tired of packaged granola (as good as they are) and get down to making my own granola.

My Mom got me started on granola making.  She always has a Tupperware container of homemade granola in her cupboard.  I used her recipe for years.  She picked it up while she and my Dad were staying at a bed and breakfast in Vermont.  I am guessing this would have been over 10 years ago, but perhaps longer.  I won’t be sharing this recipe with you today, but you can look forward to it in the not to distant future.

I have branched out with my granola making, so this recipe is a combination of a couple of different recipes I have tried  over the last year, with an emphasis on whatever nuts I had lying around in my cupboard.

Using a can of concentrated apple juice gives this granola a very “appley” taste (imagine all those flakes of oats swimming in and soaking up all that sweet apple goodness).  Most granola rely on honey or maple syrup to sweeten, so I thought I would offer up some variety in case you feel like expanding your homemade granola repertoire and trying something new.

Homemade Apple Cranberry Granola

6 cups of large flake oats (not quick oats)
1/4 cup oat bran
1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds, unsalted
1/4 cup sesame seeds
1/4 cup raw cashews, toasted
1/2 cup raw almonds, roughly chopped
1/4 cup pecans
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 can concentrated apple juice, thawed
1/4 cup oil

1/2 cup unsweetened cranberries

  • Preheat oven to 350°C
  • In a large roasting pan or baking dish mix oats, nuts, seeds, and cinnamon.
  • In a bowl stir together thawed concentrated apple juice and oil.
  • Pour apple juice mixture over oat mixture and stir well until oat mixture is thoroughly coated.
  • Bake at 350°C for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and stir.
  • Return and bake for 30 more minutes.  Remove from oven and stir.
  • Return to the oven and after 10 minutes remove from oven and add cranberries.  Return to oven and bake 10 minutes more.
  • Let cool and store in airtight container

Click to print

4 responses to “Homemade Apple Cranberry Granola

  1. Kelley's Mother

    Not that it matters but the B&B was in Whistler. Sounds good but it seems to be a long while in the oven — it must be quite toasty.

    • How did I get Vermont and Whistle mixed up – the mountains maybe??
      I think it needs to cook longer than your recipe b/c there is so much moisture from the apples juice.

  2. I do homemade granola and homemade yogurt every morning for breakfast, too. Take a look at my recipe to compare to yours. I think the proportions to oil and oats are similar – which make s for a low fat food… but, I do use a little honey – very little. I add a lot of seeds, and no other nuts than the bark on sliced almonds. Even hemp hearts, if I have them. I got the recipe somewhere when I was in University. From church, I think. I have made it ever since. Love it. I really look for unsweetened dried cranberries – and sometimes they are at Save on Foods (which I never go to otherwise), or farmer’s markets … I do dried blueberries – some dried cherries – not a ton of fruit – but a variety – and flax and bran and wheat germ. Everything a woman needs to grow old gracefully. (grin) That has how mine has evolved, over the years.
    You can find the iink to it on my Recipes page under Breakfast and Brunch Foods.
    🙂
    Valerie

    • I took a look at your recipe Valerie and it looks terrific!! You have inspired me to get more adventurous with my dried fruit and try some blueberries or maybe even apple.

Leave a Reply

