Quick and tasty weeknight meal – Thai Curry with Vegetables and Tofu

Did you ever think you could enjoy a Thai curry on a weeknight without having to go to a restaurant?

Perhaps it seems to exotic to fall into the quick and easy category?

Well, exotic or not, this Thai Curry is quick and tasty enough to spruce up your weeknight dinner repertoire.

I came across a version of this recipe in Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Suppers, but after taking a look at the recipe I realized that it was basically the same as the one on the side of my jar of Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste.

Thats right. I took this recipe straight of the side of the jar of curry paste – with the appropriate vegetarian modifications, of course. You certainly do not have to limit yourself to the red curry, as the green curry paste is equally good. In addition, feel free to experiment with the vegetables: half a can of baby corn, some broccoli or cauliflower would work equally well.  I also think a bit of spinach would be a tasty addition.

Aside from slicing a carrot and a couple of shallots, chopping and seeding a roma tomato, cubing a package of firm tofu, and tearing some basil leaves, the meal came together with frozen green beans, frozen peas, and a can of coconut milk. To cut down on time I decided to forgo the brown rice and use brown rice noodles instead. They cook quite a bit quicker and offer a pleasant change of pace.

Thai Curry with Vegetables and Tofu

2 teaspoons vegetable oil
1 -14 ounce can light coconut milk
1-2 tablespoons Thai Kitchen red curry paste (this is quite spicy, so adjust for personal taste!)
2 teaspoons sugar
2 tablespoons soya sauce
1 block firm tofu, cubed
2 shallots, thinly sliced
1 roma tomato, seeded and chopped
2 medium carrots (cut into thirds and thinly sliced lengthwise)
1 cup of frozen green beans
1/4 cup of frozen green peas
10 basil leaves, shredded

  • Heat the oil over medium heat in a large skillet add tofu cubes and cook until golden.  You will need to turn the tofu half-way through cooking.
  • Remove the tofu from the pan and set aside.  In the same pan gently fry the scallions for 3 minutes and then add the curry paste, stirring until fragrant.
  • Add the coconut milk, soy sauce and sugar and stir to mix well
  • Add the carrots, tomato, green beans,peas and simmer until tender (about 10 minutes)
  • Add the tofu and basil and cook until heated through
  • Add water if sauce is too thick.

Click to print

8 responses to “Quick and tasty weeknight meal – Thai Curry with Vegetables and Tofu

  1. There are certainly times that the can in the cupboard can save the day! And I have that can… thank you for a great idea on how to use it. I will have to substitute chicken for the tofu. 🙂 But, I now get the idea, thanks to you. My daughter was in Thailand for a few months working on a project and took a cooking class and learned how to make the green curry from scratch. She came home to show me, and it was not hard – but shopping for the ingredients was challenging at TNT as it is sometimes difficult to find what you need and feel understood there. But, I need to work on that. There is a whole world of this kind of food that is so incredible and I do continue to be somewhat intimidated with the shopping for ingredients. The cooking does not daunt me. It is acquiring all of the specific ingredients and understanding what I need, what it should look like in its best state, and then, initially how to cook it. After that, I can adapt, adjust, and figure things out like anyone else who is familiar in the kitchen. But, the can – a great idea, too! In a pinch, and until I find my way through the intricate maze of Asian cooking.
    🙂
    Valerie

    • I can make green curry from scratch too, but….. so much easy to use it from a jar.
      I think the original recipe on the jar is for chicken 🙂
      I would love to go to Thailand!! She must have had a blast

  2. I am not kidding when I tell you that I made this exact same supper this week. I still have one small dish of leftovers in the fridge! I think I was reading your blog a couple weeks ago and thought again about Deborah Madison. I’ve been cooking from her cookbook all week. Another favorite I made was the red wine braised lentils. FANTASTIC! But, if you try it I’d suggest adding maybe 1/4 of a cup of water instead of 1 1/4 cup. I had to boil it down for an additional 20 minutes and then add some thickener. The whole thing was reminiscent of coq au vin when I was a meat eater. Anyway. Cool.

    • I signed Vegetarian Suppers out of library. I made the balck beans with the coconut rice – that was very tasty.
      I will take a peek at the wine braised lentils. Thanks for the tip!
      When it comes to Thai curries – being on the same wavelength is a good thing!

  3. Adding a lime leaf or two into the liquid will add a ton of flavour and authenticity. Adding sliced red pepper would be tasty, too!

  4. You are getting a good discussion going here! That’s what we do this for -and I am learning, too. A lime leaf. Just saw them in China town at the supermarket there, yesterday – beautiful and fresh. However, not sure about the carbon footprint!

    • I buy lime leaves frozen and keep them in the freezer – since I do not use them too often.
      Carbon footprint is likely high on imported food – without a doubt. Coconut milk too!!
      Sigh….

Leave a Reply

