Better than good! Peanut Butter and Honey Fudge

It was cold this  weekend – alternating between rain, snow, and the barest hint of sun.  In fact, the weather last weekend was rather crummy as well, but I was in Calgary having fun with my best friend, so I didn’t notice.

The cold wet weather made it the perfect weekend to stay indoors and make something delicious.  Trying to  compensate  for the depressing state of affairs outside, I guess.

So, I made some fudge.

Some pretty darn amazing fudge, I might add.

But, it isn’t really fudge, at least not in the true sense of the word. There is no milk or butter to be found, but that doesn’t mean that it isn’t chewy, sweet and absolutely delicious.

EPC has named it “The Best Treat of the Year”.

The main ingredients are peanut butter and honey.  A mix of nuts, seeds raisins and coconut plus some carob powder  give this fudge its body and rich taste (I am sure that cocoa would work too).

I found this recipe in Lenten Cookbook: a collection of vegan/vegetarian recipes.  It was put out in 1998 by the Ukrainian Women’s Association Olha Kobylianska Branch from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.  Since its first printing in 1998, it has been revised and printed four times – undoubtedly a popular cookbook.  I was lucky to get the last one in stock at a local Ukrainian church when a coworker picked one up for me at one of their popular Friday night perogi dinners.

I thought it might be fun to take a look a cookbook that was put out to give church members some vegan and vegetarian options during fasting days.  Without a doubt some of the recipes are a little strange, containing such delights as non-dairy topping and canned tomato soup.  Cool whip is certainly vegan, but YUCK!    And canned tomato soup, well, I hate when recipes ask for a can of any kind of soup to masquerade as a sauce.

Aside from a few questionable recipes, there is a section featuring traditional Ukrainian recipes that contains at least four recipes for borsch, plus recipes for buckwheat Kasha and potato pancakes.

Regardless of how the other recipes turn out, this fudge recipe is worth its weight in gold.

Peanut Butter and Honey Fudge

1 cup of natural peanut butter (please don’t use Kraft)
1 cup liquid honey
3/4 cup carob powder
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup sesame seeds
1/2 cup coconut
1/2 cup chopped cashews (or nut of your choice)
1/2 cup raisins

  • In a saucepan over low heat gently heat, but do not cook, peanut butter and honey until blended
  • Add carob powder and mix well.
  • Stir in sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, coconut, chopped cashews and raisins.
  • Line a 9 x 9 cake pan with plastic wrap and fold in mixture.  Press into pan and flatten with a spatula.
  • Chill for 2 hours before slicing.
  • Makes 16 large squares, but I cut them in half.

Click to print

4 responses to “Better than good! Peanut Butter and Honey Fudge

  1. I agree, pretty darn amazing fudge!

    I’ve got a HUGE tub of honey that is begging to be used. I’m putting this on the To-Make List… it’s a pretty long list but I’ll eventually get around to it!

    Btw, I actually tried a canned tomato soup cake and it was really good. I had to ask twice to make sure that it was really tomato soup in there because I couldn’t tell!

  2. Oh really? Well, I guess it is ok since it is in the cake and not a sauce – haha. Is it on your blog?

    So , do you think you will try it with carob??

  3. No, haven’t made the tomato soup cake myself.

    No, I’ll stick with the cocoa powder 🙂 I’ve had carob chips, years ago, and wasn’t fond of it. It’s like eating turkey bacon versus the real deal bacon. It’s ok but not quite the same.

    Gosh, isn’t it wrong to be typing about bacon on a vegetarian’s blog? Not politically correct. 🙂

Leave a Reply

