Apple Walnut Upside Down Cake and an evening with friends.

We were invited for dinner and board games at friend’s house this weekend and I was asked to bring dessert.

I figured I would bring a cake.  After all, everyone loves cake!  I like making cakes too.  I find them easy to put together and transport – since we would be walking.  Especially if they are a simple one layer cake without any fancy icing to get mussed up on the way.

I thought a perfect place to look for a cake recipe would be at this wonderful local food blog – The Cake Princess.

Take a look.

See what I mean.

It is the perfect place to look for cupcake recipes too – she has tonnes of those!

I made a few changes to the recipe.  I substituted Bob’s Red Mill all-purpose gluten-free baking flour with 1/2 teaspoon of xanthan gum and used 1 1/2 cups of apples instead of 2 cups of peaches.  Our friend is celiac and loathes cooked peaches, so the changes were absolutely necessary.  And, although I have never tried the original, I don’t think the changes detracted from the dessert one bit.  The cake was light and fluffy and the fruit baked with nuts and the wonderful carmel syrup was fantastic.  I guess by now you figured out that this is not one those healthy dessert recipes that I often feature.

Before we got to the cake and the games, we were treated to the Black Bean Skillet Casserole with Cornbread Topping that I posted on Cookbook Cooks a few months ago.  Our hostess loves this dish and has made it 4 or 5 times since posting.  EPC and I hadn’t had it since, so it was nice to be reminded how delicious it is!  She rarely cooks with a recipe and treated us to her own invention of delicious pan-fried yams sweetened with a hint of maple syrup.  EPC was delighted.  Yams are his favourite vegetable.

She also had a mix of raw orange pepper and jicama for munching before dinner.  I hadn’t had jicama in ages, so I decided that I would make a slaw with jicama later this week.

Thanks for the jicama inspiration and the lovely evening.

If you want to be delighted by this cake you can find the recipe here.

4 responses to “Apple Walnut Upside Down Cake and an evening with friends.

  1. Oh we were indeed delighted by that cake!
    Thanks for the left-overs 🙂
    I had no idea EPC loves yams so much!
    Mmmmmm Jicama slaw sounds yummy!
    cheers daring!

  2. Looks wonderful, Kelly! It reminds me of a coconut upsidedown cake called lazy Dazy cake that my mother used to make years ago. And great to see local bloggers trying one another’s recipes. I love that.
    YUM.
    🙂
    Valerie

    • I recommend the cake! My friend in Toronto baked it last night in a bundt pan and it worked out well.

      It is nice to try out other’s recipes. I couldn’t go anywhere else for cakes than The Cake Princess – could I?

  3. Made this cake yesterday for a pot luck at the church. Used whole wheat pastry flour, decreased the butter & sugar and omitted the salt. I used apples, raspberries, and pecans. Cooked in 40 minutes. I served it with whipped cream and it was quite yummy. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

