Bircher Muesli – our new weekend tradition

The first time I had Bircher muesli was on my honeymoon.  Our favourite Toronto hotel is connected to the Eaton Centre’s food court.  I know that a food court does not sound that appetizing, but that is where we found this great place by the name of Richtree that sells Bircher muesli.  It is there that I tried the not quite oatmeal, not quite granola breakfast treat.

Fast forward 1 year later.

We are back in Toronto for a few days  and go over to our friend’s house for breakfast before biking out to the beach for a picnic.  Guess what delicious delight she has made for us?  That is right. Bircher muesli. She had been eating it on her last trip to Europe and liked it so much she thought she would make it for us that morning.

Of course her muesli was exponentially better than the stuff from Richtree (like most restaurant food it had too much sugar).  She used the recipe from the fantastic Rebar cookbook, which I have and seems to a common book on fellow vegetarian’s shelves

My Toronto friend always has great ideas and suggestions.  After all, she was the one who introduced me to the wonderful Toronto restaurant Fresh, and for that I will be eternally grateful. Now she got me on a bircher muesli kick, so I owe her big time.

Now that we are back in Edmonton I decided that I would follow her lead and whip up a batch for EPC and I for breakfast Sunday morning.

After the first bite he declared that the muesli was f*&@ing awesome.

Fresh blueberries and fresh peaches were great combined with the sesame seeds, sunflower seeds and almonds.  I think when summer fruit is no longer available I will give it a try with frozen berries and the more traditional apple.

So if you want something different for breakfast give Bircher muesli a try!

Bircher Muesli

This needs to be started the night before!

1 cup large flake oats, not instant (to make gluten-free use certified gluten-free oats such as Only Oats)
1 peach, chopped
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1/2 cup plain yogurt
2 tablespoons chopped or sliced almonds
2 tablespoon sunflower seeds
1 tablespoon sesame seeds
1 cup fresh berries (if using frozen thaw them overnight in the fridge)

  • Place oats in a boil and cover them with 1 1/2 cups of water.  Cover and leave to sit on the counter overnight.
  • In the morning (or the night before) toast the nuts in a toaster oven or in a heated skillet until lightly brown. Reserve.
  • Add the remaining ingredients and stir well.
  • Divide between two bowls and enjoy

Click to print

4 responses to “Bircher Muesli – our new weekend tradition

  1. Hi! I want to try this. I just need to clarify – is it supposed to be put oats in a bowl and add 1 1/2 cups boining water? Or just regular water?

  2. I know where I’m going for breakfast next weekend!!!

    They had a lot of nice museli in Sweden, I really miss it.
    They would have it with Fil Milk (sour milk). Takes a while to get used to, but now I really love it.

Leave a Reply

