All in a day’s work: The Best Granola (so far) and Flourless Oatmeal Cookies

Well, I got tired of store-bought cereal again, so I decided to make some granola.

This time, I did not follow a recipe. I took the method from my Mom’s granola recipe and added whatever nuts and seeds I had lying around. I added dried blueberries instead of the usual raisins and took advantage of the rich buckwheat honey I picked up from Lola Canola’s booth at the Downtown Farmer’s Market.

Delicious: what a treat the blueberries were and adding buckwheat honey gave the granola a subtle touch of  caramel-like sweetness.

This is definitely the best granola I have ever made!

Having The Best Granola for breakfast on Tuesday morning will make the end of the long weekend a bit easier to bear.

Since I had so much luck with oats Sunday morning, I decided to make some oatmeal cookies in the evening (I was in a baking mood, so I whipped up a batch of Carob Cashew Brownies too!)

The oatmeal cookies were delicious and very filling.  I tried to eat two, but I had to struggle through the second one.  I figure this cookie will make a great (and fairly healthy) afternoon snack.  It will satisfy a sweet craving, without being too sweet and fill me up until dinner.

Although the recipe calls for wheat bran, you may be able to make these celiac friendly by substituting in Only Oats oat bran in place of the wheat bran.  I haven’t tried it, so I can’t say for sure, but if you do try it let me know.

Being flourless, these are not a doughy cookie.  You need to form and flatten the cookies with moistened hands, so it requires a bit more work that the traditional dollop on a cookie sheet, but they are still nice and chewy – even more so, because there isn’t any flour to get in the way of the oats.

The Best Granola (so far)

6 cups of large flake oats (not instant or quick oats)
2 cups of barley flakes
1/3 cup raw sunflower seeds
1/3 cup sesame seeds
2/3 cup of coarsely chopped whole almonds with the skins still on
1/3 cup of raw cashews coarsely chopped
1/3 cup of oat bran
1 teaspoon cinnamon
Grated zest of one orange
1/4 cup of oil
1/2 cup of honey (approximate)
1 cup of dried blueberries

  • Preheat oven to 350°C
  • In a large baking dish combine barley flakes, oatmeal, oat bran, cinnamon, seeds and nuts.
  • Add orange zest and stir
  • Pour oil into measuring cup up to 1/4 cup measure.  Top up with honey to 2/3 cup measure.
  • Stir well to mix.
  • Optional: Take some of the mixture and place on a cookie sheet about 1 layer thick (this will give you some granola that is extra brown and crispy).
  • Bake for 15 minutes at 350°C.  Remove from the oven and stir.
  • Bake for 10 minutes more and stir again.
  • Add blueberries and bake for 5 minutes more.
  • Let cool and store in an air-tight container.

Click to print

Flourless Oatmeal Cookies – adapted from Uprisings: the whole grain bakers’ book

3 eggs
3/4 cup of warmed honey (I heated it on the stove top for a few minutes)
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup applesauce
4 1/2 cups large flake oats (not instant)
1 1/4 cups wheat germ
3/4 cup milk powder
3/4 cup medium unsweetened coconut flakes
1/3 cup of chopped walnuts
1/3 cup chopped raw cashews
2/3 cup currants
Grated zest of one orange

  • In a medium bowl beat together 3 eggs.
  • Add oil and applesauce and stir together.
  • In a large bowl add oats, wheat germ, milk powder, coconut, nuts, currants, and orange rind.
  • Stir mixture and let sit for 25 minutes.  This will help the cookies stick together.
  • Preheat the oven to 325°C
  • Using your hands, roll the dough into a ball and shape into a flat cookie about 1/4 – 1/2 inch thick and press onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet,  firming up the cookie edges if needed.
  • Bake at 325°C for 15 minutes until lightly brown

Click to print

2 responses to “All in a day’s work: The Best Granola (so far) and Flourless Oatmeal Cookies

  1. The cookies and granola sound delish! I hope to try them soon. There’s something about winter that makes me want to bake. xoxo

  2. I baked and cooked my brains out all weekend, too! Fall is definitely in the air… the primordial urge to prepare has set in! I love the idea of the buckwheat honey to the granola… I have added blueberries and dried cherries since I – well – have aged. (ah-hem) and LOVE them. I add very little oil or honey, though – and with my homemade yogurt… YUM. I always have homemade granola in the cupboard and it has been a staple of mine since I was 20 and learned to make it at church – way back in those barely post hippy days. I have my recipe on my site. The link can be found on the recipes page under breakfast foods. (Maybe we should do a taste off!!!)
    🙂
    Valerie

Leave a Reply

