A weekend of beets

Eating a large amount of beets over the course of a weekend should not come as a surprise at this time of year.  It is harvest time after all!

We went over to our friend’s place for supper and games on Saturday evening and what a treat!  The company and the food were top-notch.

Our host prepared these wonderful puff pastry parcels filled with golden and red beets that were absolutely delightful and for dessert his “partner-in-cooking” prepared a lovely apple tart.  He promises me that the beet parcel recipe is forthcoming, so I hope to be making it myself and posting it soon.  Enjoying the harvest bounty with friends made it feel like Thanksgiving had come a weekend early.

We also played a  board game that EPC really enjoyed.  I finally got into it after the second round (translate: figured out what the heck was going on), but we didn’t make it to a third, as dessert and conversation got in the way.  The game is popular in the UK and is called The Really Nasty Horse Racing Game.  Since EPC enjoyed it so much, I am hoping that I can track it down here in Canada.

I was lucky enough to be on the receiving end of a large bag of beets harvested from the garden of my co-worker’s mother.  I decided to make a beet cake with cream cheese icing and some savory beet pancakes that I had seen in a summer issue of Vegetarian Times (their photo is much better than mine).

Beet cake is something I have enjoyed numerous times at a local restaurant The Blue Plate Diner.  I didn’t have a recipe for a beet cake so I took a carrot cake recipe and modified it.  It worked out and tasted great (thanks to some suggestions from my Mom), but I have a bit of tweaking to do before it makes an appearance on Cookbook Cooks.

The beet pancakes were scrumptious.  I am eating a leftover one as I write this post and I must confess that eating one the second day convinced me to get off my butt and post the recipe so you can make them too!

Savory Beet Pancakes with Yogurt-Mint Sauce
makes about 8 pancakes

Yogurt-Mint Sauce:
1/2 cup plain yogurt (I used 2%)
1/2 teaspoon dried mint
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 small garlic clove, minced
1/4 teaspoon salt
a few turns of the pepper mill

Beet Pancakes:
1 1/2 cups of grated beets (about 3 medium)
1 cup of grated carrot
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs, beaten

First make the yogurt mint sauce:

  • Using a fork, whisk together yogurt, mint, lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper in a small bowl
  • Refrigerate until ready to use
  • Then make the pancakes:

  • Preheat oven to 250°C (to keep the pancakes hot as you prepare them)
  • Grate beets and carrots by hand or using a food processor.
  • Add garlic and salt and stir.
  • Add the beaten eggs and mix well.
  • Spray a non-stick skillet or cast iron pan with cooking oil and heat over medium heat (medium low if you are using cast iron)
  • Drop 1/4 cup of the beet mixture onto the pan and flatten.  I found that I could easily cook 2 at a time.
  • Cook for 3-4 minutes on each side and put finished pancakes in the oven until ready to serve.
  • Top with yogurt-mint sauce and serve
  • Click to print

    One response to “A weekend of beets

    1. I love beets. It seems as though when I eat them these days, I am consistently pairing them with goat cheese… but, I love them with caraway and balsamic, too… and, pretty much every way. Jamie Oliver’s recipe of raw beets julienned with pears and feta with mint is a keeper. Make that for sure… lemon juice for dressing. No fat. It is online everywhere… and deadly.
      🙂
      Valerie

    Leave a Reply

    