The tang of lemon and feta: Greek Lentil Soup

I took a look at this recipe and thought that sounds good: I love lentils and who doesn’t like feta cheese!

It was better than I expected.   I figured that it would be good, after all I have never had a lentil soup I did not like, but it was better than good.   Mediterranean style lentil soups are nothing new, but I am not sure whether it was the lemon or the feta, or both, that took the flavour of this soup out my taste experience.

When you have eaten a lot of lentil soups like I have, finding one that charts out a new taste territory is a good thing.

That is all I have to say.

Really.

Try the soup.

Greek Lentil Soup (adapted from Rebar: Modern Food Cookbook by Audrey Alsterberg and Wanda Urbanowicz)

To make it vegan leave out the cheese.  If opting for a gluten-free option make sure your vegetable broth is GF.

2 cups of red lentils, rinsed well and drained
2 tablespoons of vegetable oil
1 large onion, diced
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/2 cups of carrots, diced
1 cup of potato, diced
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1 teaspoon dried rosemary, ground or minced (I crushed mine with a mortar and pestle)
2 teaspoons dried oregano
2 bay leaves
7 cups of vegetable stock
a couple handfuls of fresh spinach
zest of 1/2 lemon
juice of 1 lemon
salt to taste (remember the feta will add some saltiness)

2/3 cup of crumbled feta cheese
1/4 teaspoon mint
freshly ground pepper to taste

  • In a large soup pot warm the oil over medium heat and saute the onions until translucent.
  • Add the garlic, carrot, potato, pepper, chilies, rosemary, oregano and 2 bay leaves and saute for about 5 minutes.
  • Add the lentils and the stock and bring to a boil.
  • Reduce the heat and simmer for about 30 minutes until the lentils are soft.
  • Add the spinach and cook until wilted
  • Add the lemon zest and lemon juice and salt and pepper.
  • In a small bowl stir the feta with the mint and freshly ground pepper.
  • Ladle the soup into individual bowls and top with the feta mixture.

Click to print

7 responses to “The tang of lemon and feta: Greek Lentil Soup

  1. I love lemon and feta – and sometimes lentils… if this is a thick soup, I am sure I would love it. There is a lot going on in it, so how could it not be good?
    🙂
    Valerie

  2. We love lentil soup, and this looks like such a nice refreshing change from our usual toto recipe (onions, sausage, garlic and lentils). Next cold day, this is on our list!

    Andy

  3. Yum! I made this soup for some guests this weekend.. and it was amazing! i’m loving the leftovers too!

    thanks for posting it!

  4. Pingback: Better late than never: the best recipes of 2010 | Cookbook Cooks

  5. David Vaughan Terry

    Oh yes! My ex wife used to make this, and I love making it now too. A succinct description of such an amazing soup! Nice one!

  6. David Vaughan Terry

    forgot to mention! I live in Victoria and frequent the Rebar, but have only had it a few times there, it was fabulous. : )

Leave a Reply

