Delicious Gingerbread Cookies!! And by the way, they are gluten free.

It is not unusual for people to turn up their nose when I mention gluten-free desserts. I am not sure why, perhaps it is because they feel that something must be missing; that they have to sacrifice taste or decadence, because the tasty treat has not been made with wheat flour.

That is certainly not the case! In fact, many delicious deserts are traditionally made without flour – think Pavlova – or without wheat flour, such as Scottish shortbread where rice flour is used.

This recipe does not forgo flour to be celiac friendly, but takes advantage of a great gluten-free flour mix from Bob’s Red Mill. I can’t compare this to other gluten-free flour mixes, as this is the only one I have tried, but I really love its light brown colour.

I made these cookies last year as part of the Christmas cookie pack that I give out to my friends and they all loved them.

The inspiration to spend the afternoon baking a batch of cookies comes from my dear friend who is half way through the National Novel Writing Month.  She has signed up for the challenge of writing of 50, 000 words over the month of November and, yes, she has a full-time job as well!  I figured she needed a few cookies to get her over the halfway point.

I found this recipe on the Canadian Living Website, so I have included the link for you. I did make a few changes: I subbed butter for the shortening and didn’t bother with the icing.  I also added 3/4 teaspoon of xanthan gum as suggested on the back of the flour mix (easy to find at your local health food store).  In addition, the recipe also works well as a drop cookie!

Gluten Free Gingerbread Cookie recipe

4 responses to “Delicious Gingerbread Cookies!! And by the way, they are gluten free.

  1. I cannot believe these are gluten free. I would need cookies if i was writing that much – and maybe I did in the post I just posted a few minutes ago… but it was such an interesting session and I didn’t want to miss a thing about it.. all recipes are vegetarian in my post, by the way – this time. My grandmother has the best recipe for big fat gingerbread cookies that we make every year with orange butter icing. YUM… but I have more friends eating gluten free, so am collecting recipes in this area. I appreciate it.
    🙂
    valerie
    (great Christmasy smells in the kitchen, too!)

    • I just read your post – I AM SO JEALOUS. Some year I will go, so thanks for giving such a great outline of your weekend.
      I think the goat cheese torte looks deadly delish!

      About the ginger cookies – they are really great. If you baked them for your friends they wouldn’t feel hard done by at all!

  2. Hey Kelley, I don’t see your email anywhere on the ole blog. I have some vegie burgers recipes that I scanned a while ago and keep meaning to try. Maybe there is something different that you haven’t tried?

  3. I also meant to add, shoot me an email, in the above comment. sheesh. always getting ahead of myself. I’m like an impatient kid… always want to hit that publish or post comment button before I’m finished 🙂

Leave a Reply

