Is it a soup or stew? Neither, its Pasta e Fagioli!

This is a great weeknight meal.  It is quick to make, satisfying, and tastes even better for lunch the next day!

I love pasta dishes, but one of my complaints is that the vegetarian versions are often low on the protein side of things.  This dish has a whole can of cannellini beans along side the vegetables and pasta making it much more balanced and filling.  I made a  few simple changes to the original recipe, so that the sauce would be thicker and a little less soup like, and it worked really well!

In anticipation of making this popular  dish I picked up a new pasta shape from the Italian Grocery Store: whole wheat orecchiette.  It was fantastic: tender, yet chewy.  I am not sure if it was the brand of pasta, or if it was the particular shape, but I think it would work really well in a “macaroni” and cheese type dish.

I will save that for next time.  After all,  there are never a shortage of great recipes and ideas to try!

Pasta e Fagioli (adapted from Toni Fiore’s Totally Vegetarian)

4 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
1 medium onion
1 celery stalk, finely diced
1 carrot, finely diced
3 garlic cloves chopped
1 teaspoon rosemary, minced
3 fresh sage leaves, minced
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1 19 ounce can of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed (Hint: these are also called white kidney beans)
1 -15 ounce can crushed tomatoes
2 cups of dry pasta, I used whole wheat orecchiette (use brown rice pasta to make this recipe gluten-free)

Grated parmesan (optional)

  • Heat the oil in a large saucepan or dutch oven and saute the onion, celery, and carrots for 5 minutes.
  • Add the garlic and cook for another 5 minutes.
  • Stir in the oregano, sage and rosemary
  • Add the beans, tomatoes and 2 cups of water.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for 20 minutes.
  • Add salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
  • Add cooked pasta to individual bowls and top with the thick soup.
  • Garnish with grated parmesan if desired.

Click to print


3 responses to “Is it a soup or stew? Neither, its Pasta e Fagioli!

  1. Dang this looks good too. One day I am going to make so many of the recipes on your site! But this one maybe sooner than later, it looks so simple! Thanks Kelley!

  2. I love this dish, too… and yours looks almost exactly like mine with a couple of exceptions – and I will try yours next time… I usually only add basil and oregano… and I always add a couple of T of tomato paste… oh, and one more: celery… usually throw that in to my basic tomato sauce. I will try your herb combo next time I make it. Sometimes I need to get out of my “same old” rut!
    🙂
    Valerie

Leave a Reply

