Tomatillo and Avocado Salsa

Well, even though we had to push the car into a street-side parking spot,  we made it to my work Christmas Party in January in one piece and only a few minutes late.

I cannot believe the amount of snow that has fallen in Edmonton over the last 10 days.  It is astronomical!  It must around 40 cm by now and word on the street in another 10-20 cm by the Tuesday.  And cold!  I do not think the thermometer has made it over -20°C in the last week.

Sigh.

Don’t get me wrong, I have come to terms with the fact that I live in a cold Canadian city, but with all this snow I wish it would warm up a bit so we could at least enjoy it.

In order to cope with the weather I was reminiscing about our winter holiday to Cancun last Christmas.  We stayed at The Westin Hotel and Spa and the poolside restaurant served a fantastic tomatillo salsa before each meal.  After eating the salsa every day for a week I didn’t get tired of it, but instead decided that I needed to get the recipe for myself.

The chef gave up the recipe with pride and I tucked it into my suitcase, saving it for a snowy day when I needed reminding of warm weather flavours.  I love tomatillo salsa, or green salsa as it is often called, and with the added avocado it is even better.

At the party last night I served the salsa with tortilla chips, but it would be great stand-in anywhere you would use a standard red tomato salsa.

I plan to make up another batch this week!

Tomatillo and Avocado Salsa

4 or 5 green tomatillos
3 tablespoon chopped onion
1 -2 serrano or jalapeno chiles, chopped (I removed the seeds to reduce the heat)
1 tablespoon finely chopped cilantro
1 -2 garlic cloves, minced
3 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 ripe avocado, mashed

  • Remove the husks from the tomatillos, wash the fruit with a bit of soap and rinse well.
  • In a small pot cover the tomatillos with water and bring to boil.  When water is boiling, reduce heat and  simmer for 10 minutes.
  • Remove tomatillos from heat and let cool for a few minutes.
  • Add tomatillos, onions, chile, lime juice, garlic, salt, and cilantro to a food processor.  Pulse until mixture is well combined.  Let cool.
  • Stir in avocado before serving.

Click to print

4 responses to “Tomatillo and Avocado Salsa

  1. acanadianfoodie

    Was his recipe as good as his salsa? Sometimes one wonders. This looks and sounds delicious. How lucky you were to get the recipe from the Chef. Now I will have to make it. Did you used canned or fresh tomatillos – and if fresh – from where? I must try this. I love salsa and eat it on a lot of things!
    🙂
    Valerie
    (Or straight from the bowl with a spoon!)

  2. I am not sure if it was as good, but it is excellent regardless. I imagine eating it on the beach in the warm sun makes a difference too – ahaha

    I got the tomatillos at Save-On Jasper and at Safeway Oliver Square. The Safeway had nicer looking ones. I have never used canned.

  3. I really wish I could be in Cancun. I’ve spent almost my entire life in this city and I will still NOT get accustomed to it.

    I have a couple of canned tomatillos in my pantry. I’ve never ever used it in my cooking before and made the point of buying them so I will try them out. Of course they still sit there, but this recipe sounds really good.

Leave a Reply

