Vietnamese Pho – Vegetarian Style!

I was directed to this great recipe on the Veg News website by my co-worker’s girlfriend.  At work one day he commented on how she had made this great vegetarian Pho, so I was delighted when the link showed up in my inbox a few months later.

I have never had real authentic Pho with beef, so I can’t say if the soup tastes like it should or not. Regardless, it is a great soup and both EPC and I slurped it all up for dinner tonight.

No leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

I wasn’t sure if the soup would be as good as the name  – Faux Pho.  Needless to say I spent a lot of time this weekend mentioning to my husband that I would be making Faux Pho, or was that (ahem) Pho Faux, for dinner on Sunday. I guess the soup was pretty stellar, because any annoyance he might have felt at my play on words over the course of weekend was remedied as he finished up his second bowl.

The soy sauce, Chinese five spice powder and of course the seitan make this into one meaty soup quite unlike anything I have had before, except maybe at Padmanadi.  And what do you know, it looks like Padmanadi is having an all you can eat vegetarian buffet this Feb 3 and 4 in celebration of Chinese New Year!

The Vietnamese Faux Pho was quick, easy and delicious, so we will definitely be having it again.

FYI:  I subbed one heaping cup of coarsely grated carrots for the mung bean sprouts, used Green Cuisine plain seitan (available at Planet Organic) and upped the amount of fresh lime juice considerably

Click here for the recipe

3 responses to “Vietnamese Pho – Vegetarian Style!

  1. It doesn’t look easy. But, as a vegetarian, I truly believe you are used to more prep than that of a carnivore It just takes more time working with veggies than throwing a hunk of meat in a pan…
    🙂
    Valerie

  2. Dang that bowl of soup looks good! I printed off the recipe and it’s on my to do list. Thankfully all the ingredients are simple and easy – I even have kombu. I just need to get a hold of the 5 spice powder… where did you get a hold of yours? I’m sure it’s at the local Chinese market, or maybe even Superstore? Thanks Kelley!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

