Chipotle Lentil and Tofu Burritos from Antia Stewart’s Canada

Anita Stewart’s Canada, what a fantastic cookbook!  I have  my best friend to thank for introducing me to this wonderful cookbook.  And what are friends for, if not for introducing you to great food, or in this case a tool to make great food!

Twice a year my friend heads out to Ontario for a trade show and stays at a wonderful bed and breakfast in Elora.  A recipe from this bed and breakfast is featured in the cookbook, so my friend decided to pick up a copy as a souvenir.  After flipping through it and tasting the fantastic Oatmeal and Whole Wheat Waffles that she and her husband whipped up for breakfast one weekend, I decided to pick up a copy for myself and another as a gift.

This cookbook is probably one of my favourites, not solely for the recipes (I have only tried three), but because of the wonderful stories within.  In fact, after I have gone to bed for the night you can often find this cookbook on the floor beside the bed.  The cookbook contains a wonderful representation of Canadian recipes from coast to coast that Anita has picked up, searched out and compiled with their corresponding stories.  There is a fair bit of meat, seafood and fish featured in the book, but it also showcases fruit, vegetables, legumes, quick and yeasted breads and wonderful desserts.  For example, a recipe for The Best Perogies, Nova Scotian Rhubarb Cobbler, Coconut Roti, and Nettie Stanoyev’s Fabulous Fresh Bean Soup are just a few of the gems found within.

Of course, the Soy and Lentil Burritos is another great recipe sure to please vegetarians and meat-eaters alike.  My husband loves burritos, so I knew that I had to try this dish.    They turned out wonderful with a bit of Monterey Jack cheese and guacamole.  Fresh tomatoes or pico de gallo would have been a nice addition as well.  They also taste really great the next day for lunch!

With regard to the canned chipotle pepper, I added one with the required amount of adobe sauce, but found that it needed a few shakes of chipotle chili powder and cayenne to raise the heat to our liking.

Oh, I almost forgot!  Make sure you follow the recipe and use frozen tofu.  It adds an interesting texture to the dish, quite unlike fresh tofu.

Chipotle Lentil and Tofu Burritos

1 package of firm tofu, frozen
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/2 medium onion, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 teaspoons chili powder
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 19 ounce can of lentils, rinsed and drained
1/4- 1/2 cup water
1 cup of canned diced tomatoes, drained
1 chipotle pepper in adobe sauce, seeded and chopped plus 2 teaspoons of adobe sauce.
2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
6 large whole wheat tortillas, warmed in a skillet

garnish: cheese, guacamole, salsa, cilantro, lettuce, tomato, etc.

  • Bring 1 inch of water to boil in a saucepan, remove the tofu from its packaging and add to the pot.  Cover and reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.
  • Drain the tofu and let it cool.  Cut the tofu into quarters and squeeze firmly to get rid of excess water.  Crumble tofu with your hands into small pieces.
  • Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add the onion and garlic and cook until tender, about 5 minutes.
  • Add the chili powder and cumin and stir to coat the onions.
  • Add the tofu and cook for 3 minutes, stirring often.
  • Add lentils, 1/4 – 1/2 cup of water, tomatoes, chipotle and adobe sauce and stir well.
  • Heat until bubbling and reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Add coriander before serving.
  • Spoon into the centre of a skillet warmed tortilla and top with garnishes of your choice.

Click to print

3 responses to “Chipotle Lentil and Tofu Burritos from Antia Stewart’s Canada

  1. What a great recipe – and I even have the cookbook. I hate that I have cookbooks I have never used. This is a great addition to my classroom cooking as the vegetarians – and I have a lot (about half) will love this, and the meat eaters will get a great, healthy alternative to their repertoire!
    🙂
    Valerie

    • That is great that you have the cookbook – it is such a great one.
      I recommend the oatmeal waffles – they work as pancakes too. They are delicious!!!

  2. Excellent recipe! Just tried it tonight and we were very satisfied. Looking forward to eating it again tomorrow night!!!

Leave a comment